SoCS – The (not so) Big Deal about First Times

We love to experience new things. That leads to many “first time” experiences or even once-in-lifetime events that stay with us right until the very end – if we bother to look them up.

I used to document everything at one point – first lone trip, first crush, first kiss, first cook, first trek, first friend, and first boyfriend, even my first nail paint (I was 7 and it was this delightful pink 🙂 ). I treasured those and believed them to be life altering moments. And then, one fine day I just stopped! There were way too many to keep track of and to be honest for what?

I don’t want to get so hung up on those first moments that put what followed next in dim light! My first kiss… well that certainly will not shadow the heated make outs that came later! My first nail paint… ummm that Thai spa visit was much better! My first exam… okay! That was probably the easiest I have ever given so yeah, that meant a lot. Exceptions prove the rule! The point, I understand first times are important. They are the stepping stones, they are the learning experiences, they are the tear-jerking moments that, at times, simply cannot be matched and are unparalleled. But it becomes an issue when I am hung up on them and refuse to move forward.

An example. I walk into a restaurant and order a chocolate cheesecake. That first bite is mind-blowing – literally an orgasm bursting in my mouth. At that moment, I decide “Best cheesecake ever!!!” A week later, I walk in and order again. But this time, for some odd reason, it just doesn’t make the cut. No matter how hard I try, I simply cannot feel the same way! Which in turn doesn’t let me enjoy the dessert which I would have, had I not gone by the standards set by my first time. See… damn you first time!

Truth is, I am celebrating breaking free from molly-cuddling my first times. Yes they are special.  But no, they don’t make the other times any less special or less worthy. Take these competitive exams! Some poor hardworking fellow doesn’t clear it on the first attempt because of a head cold, but does it with flying colors on his second attempt. Does that make him less intelligent than the ones who cleared it at the first go? I say hats off to the guy for facing those exams again head on and coming out on top.

So I am done rambling I think. In the end, it is not just the first times – every second that made us laugh and happy and made a difference deserve a special place. The moments that stick with us till the last time are that ones that count.

socs-badge


The Stream of Consciousness Saturday prompt was: Use an ordinal number, i.e. first, second, third and so on. I slashed at my laptop and wrote with and without thinking if that makes any sense! 😀

12 thoughts on “SoCS – The (not so) Big Deal about First Times

  1. Yes. Latching onto experiences on a first come first serve basis not the way to go. But it happens at times with me. Been there done that it isn’t exciting any more. New adventure, bring it on! 🙂

    Like

  2. I can’t agree more! I love how you say “I don’t want to get so hung up on those first moments that put what followed next in dim light!”. There were times I found myself getting all caught up with the ‘first time’ bit and I had to remind myself not to get too attached to the point that I feel pressured to make sure everything turns our perfect 🙂

    Like

  3. There’s a first time for everything, as they say (whoever “they” are). After a while, they become like New Year’s day, nothing more than the first day of a new month. That doesn’t mean not to enjoy them, just that it’s good to maintain your perspective on them.

    Like

  4. YES I AGREE WITH YOU. NO POINT IN BEING HUNG UP ALL THE TIME ON THAT “FIRST TIME” JINX. INSTEAD, I WOULD PREFER TO ENJOY IT “ALL THE TIME” AS IF IT IS “FIRST TIME”

    Like

  5. With a modicum of knowledge which replenishes on a daily basis, comes depression and it accrues like a billionaire’s wealth. How often these days you come across a guy who knows a little less and wants you to enlighten him. The availability of Internet (particularly Google) has given a weapon in the hands of pompous people, which in turn has obliterated our capacity to be astonished.

    Like

Share your thoughts...

