‘Faith’fully Yours

30684_1461595381520_3916738_n

“The more you know, the less you feel… Some pray for, others steal

Blessings are not just for the ones who kneel… luckily”

– City of Blinding Lights, U2.

This song is one of my favourites and these lines strike home every time. If I just focus on these two lines – the last line to be precise, there is some elemental truth there.

Faith. Prayers. Blessings.

Beautiful words.

Then bring on Religion. And say goodbye to clarity.

I have come across many people on and off the blogosphere it who are unerringly devout. And I respect that. Met people who are the opposite and are firm atheists. I respect that too.

And perhaps I envy them just a bit. Because they know exactly where their faith lies! Maybe a few are too brash and indulge in excessive bashing of the other side, but most of them respectfully accept. Because, faith is personal. Intimate.

But somehow, I am not sold by either side. Too much has happened in the name of God making us abandon our sense our accountability. And since when was it necessary to pray or observe fasts to be granted a place in heaven or wait for hours in scorching heat to get blessings… I mean, how can devotion be directed??? The other side doesn’t help either – I refuse to accept that there is no greater power and we are all here only because of a few well-timed explosions! No No. This is all too awesome to be an accident.

And… I am from Ahmedabad and I saw the 2002 Godhra riots up close. My best friend moved overnight simply because of the fact that she was a Muslim. I never met her after that and that pain still pinches. Exchanged a few letters, e-mails and phone calls. That’s it. The memory makes me wince at religions and biases.

By birth, I am a Hindu. And my family is devout. But somehow, it never trickled down in me and neither was it ever enforced. All I do is that I light incense sticks in my room as I know it makes my parents happy – which roughly sums up my idea of devotion! It makes my parents happy. And there is nothing more I want and neither is this something reluctantly done. I like those quiet moments of silent reflection. There something relaxing about being spiritual without being religious.

Which isn’t really a bad thing. Don’t they always say that this journey is glorious and pure and often, a limitless one? Which means that I may not ever reach my destination of really defining my faith! “Why are we here?” “What is my purpose?” – Questions beyond the physical and tangible realms remain unanswered in my mind. The only solid ground that I have found is literally our ground – Gaea, Terra, Earth. She supports us and enables life; worshiping her is the least I can do.

It also makes it easy to live with this feeling that I am never really going to find those divine answers. Welcome this quote from Angels & Demons that helps –

“Science tells me God must exist. My mind tells me I will never understand God. And my heart tells me I am not meant to.”

Peace.


What drives your faith? Or the lack of it? And fellow confused seekers… what do you think? Any luck finding your way? Do you even want to?

Well… Happy First Anniversary to my blog anyway!

54 thoughts on “‘Faith’fully Yours

  1. I think it is a mystery but like you I can not dismiss that there is a force behind creation. It is all so complex and perfectly balanced. I too find it very disheartening that people are prejudiced against each other because of religion. And some people use it as a justification to oppress women. It sickens me at times and then I have to try to forget about it for a while otherwise be depressed by it. It would be very hard to see it up close and personal like you did.

    Like

  2. I think it truly sad when religions or textbooks of science take the magic of human imagination.. creativity and freedom in mind and body balance in regulating emotions and senses away.. and truly that is what our cultures.. including religion.. do to many folks today.. and yes.. it is an ever pressing so-called First World problem too.. The answers are all simple and clear to me.. once i walk far enough down a beach.. to no longer see buildings or human footprints.. all the rest of the stuff is culturally influenced.. and culture exists to make order out of what folks think chaos of nature is.. ironically making life less meaningful than ever before for the majority of folks with little to no time to even attempt to truly look within and find the answers for themselves.. the answers truly can be found within.. if we have the time and the ability to filter culture in all its complexity out of our minds.. i am blessed losing effective usage of my eyesight and hearing for five years.. so hard of a habit to break.. but not one I will ever get trapped in again.. as i control my life from within.. instead of external influences ruling over me like a Hurricane of human ‘crap’ to put it frankly.. anyway.. you are cool to ask the big questions.. the friends i do have i know are my friends.. a i keep no secrets to what i know and feel.. smiles.. and the world is a big enough place now.. for even the strangest of us.. to find folks who are not afraid to ask the big questions in life.. in full public purview.. as well..:)

    Like

  3. Happy anniversary to your blog 🙂 I hope you come up with more posts and keep us all refreshed.

    Well I believe in the same as you have mentioned, religion is completely a personal affair. No bloodshed should happen in the name of religion, and if it does happen, that’s a failure.

    I also follow football, automobiles, photography with great passion. I think they are also religion and a greater one than the ones we follow. People who follow them never spill blood but try to understand various aspects.

    Well something for our so called religious fanatics to learn from.

    Like

  4. I love this post. I wander through dogmas, studied many of them, practiced few. God to me is unknowable love, beauty and truth in all things, utter perfection, that which unites us all. Beyond that, meh, because God is unknowable. I take hope above faith, but I do love ritual. So many beautiful rituals. But no, I don’t need to understand. I only need to keep hope in my journey and express love in thought, word, and action.
    I find your post most kindred, and beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Joey! Some rituals are indeed beautiful aren’t they? I used to wish that I can make my own mix of beliefs and roll with it and then realized that in some way, I am already doing that 🙂 Let’s see how this journey goes.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I love your thoughts and your open sense of spirituality. This post reminds me of one of my favorite quotes by Rainer Maria Rilke: “…have patience with everything unresolved in your heart and to try to love the questions themselves as if they were locked rooms or books written in a very foreign language. Don’t search for the answers, which could not be given to you now, because you would not be able to live them. And the point is to live everything. Live the questions now. Perhaps then, someday far in the future, you will gradually, without even noticing it, live your way into the answer.”

    Like

  6. 🙂 happy to know we share similar thoughts on faith and religion..does a higher power exist..yes..but is it in the form of God prevalent everywhere these days..I don’t think so.. 🙂

    beautiful post..keep writing..

    Like

  7. Yes I do believe in an universal energy which presents itself manifests in nature and human kind. As such our purpose in life is to be in awareness and to be of help to the less fortunate other.
    Thanks for a lovely post.

    Like

  8. I’m a believer in God, but not in the rituals. I believe, if you are pure, and true, and sincere, you’ll have the protection of God always with you. Either you believe in God or not, both the extremes should be firm in your faith, only then you realize the beauty of the creation.

    Like

  9. First of all Happy anniversary Prajakta ! May there be many more to come! 🙂
    And secondly I can understand your confusions, we all face these during some part of life. We all experience spiritual exile at some point in our life too. I won’t say I’m a really religious person but I am fairly spiritual. And I believe we must believe in something. Believing is necessary, let it be an object, Higher Providence or yourself. Whatever it is, you must believe in something. I hope you find your way and get answers to all your questions too. just keep an open mind through all this 🙂

    Much love,
    Zee ❤

    Like

    • Thank you Zee 🙂
      A spiritual exile is a perspective that looks very interesting. And like you rightly said, this believing is something that really strengthens us, even if we cannot define it!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I, too, find peace in being spiritual rather than religious. I am a believer in a higher power, though I have yet to find the clarity to define it. I am not a fan of organized religions, but I am in awe of people who have faith without question. And so the journey continues for the both of us… 🙂

    Like

  11. Happy blog anniversary, Prajakta!
    A thought provoking post, and mine is a similar story to yours. Parents are not overtly religious, and even that little hasn’t rubbed off on me. I visit temples when I am expected to and light a lamp at home, when asked. That’s about all I do in the name of religion. But there is one thing I realised, i have conversations in my head every now and then, it keeps me sane, and I think in a way it is similar to how one would pray in the presence of an idol, etc. So, I guess we all believe in something, we all need to, I think, probably the only thing that keeps us sane.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks a lot! I am glad this was able to connect with you. This conversation that goes on in the head is actually something I used to tell my mum a lot – akin to worshiping a deity. Our personal form of spiritual connect!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Your post, Prajakta, was so beautifully balanced. I loved reading how you’re wading through this incredibly challenging topic. And I cannot think there is a more sensible way for one to do so. I love how you leave room for change – in any direction. It’s admirable and in my opinion, intelligent and thoughtful behavior.
    Perhaps it’s why I enjoy your writing as much as I do–same brain, different body.
    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Happy Anniversary Prajakta 😀
    Great questions, I find religion as private too. Personal I find more peace in spirituality than in religions. The way many understand and practice religion, I can’t agree in any way.

    Like

  14. Loved the post 🙂 We are to find the answers ourselves and believing in God or some higher power is a personal choice. I am reading a book “Siddhartha” by Hermann Hesse. If possible read it and many things will be clear for you. It defines many things and all essential things in a better way. Good luck for the unending journey 🙂

    Like

  15. Happy Anniversary the “Armchair Perfectionist” 🙂 You are one of the very first bloggers I came to know in this little world. Thank you for being an inspiration to me in your own way.
    Wish you much more of smiles, laughter, giggles and cuddles with the words. Wish you reach heights of happiness that you might not have even imagined for yourself. Cheers!

    Like

Share your thoughts...

