SoCS ‘S’ | Sunny Breezy Saturday!

The prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday: the letter “S

Image: http://www.pinterest.com/coffeeloversmag/
Image: http://www.pinterest.com/coffeeloversmag/

A bulb lit up inside my head when I saw the letter ‘S’… Saturday of course 😀 They were both snugly tucked in together. So, why not spend some time to express my love for Saturdays.

Saturday is the happiest day of the week. Actually, the champagne goes to that nice little bracket of Friday night and Saturday morning when all you see are two days of forgetting that there is a hellhole in fluorescent lighting waiting in 48 hours. It is the time I can break out of chains and be what I want to be – happy, sad, annoying, sexy, irritating, mischievous, flirty, wicked, evil, lazy, insane and even wise! And dare anyone judge me! *sharpening pitchfork*

As a student, every day was a weekend and a weekday at once. But right from Day 1 of work, the clock forever ticks for that elusive S day. The hard, cold reality of the corporate world is a heavy weight in your tummy. The constant monitoring for the slightest trip and fall, where they are just waiting to pull the rug… (Maybe I am exaggerating a bit, but hey it’s Saturday!) Somehow, the world becomes nicer at the end of the weekday. Smiles and jokes all around, you are more pliable than usual and get altruistic attacks. Thoughts of deadlines, bills, e-mails and meetings cheerfully wave goodbye as we start planning the lovely two days coming forth.

We wake up Saturday mornings with thoughts of sumptuous breakfasts. You stay in bed for that one last cuddle and then hop out because you can almost sniff the waffles dappled in maple syrup. You take your own sweet time to leisurely finish your pooping business and are at peace with your surprisingly cooperative bowels. You feel fresh breeze running through your room and caressing every mould of your body – soft and sensual. You have memories of the hot dress you wore last night and were a dancing diva in full glory. Hello world! Am I awesome or AM I Awesome!!!! *thumping chest victoriously*

Saturdays are special – this is when I am the truest version of me, where I have peeled off the different layers that belong to a stranger. I relax with family and friends, catch a movie, finish a book, go for a hike, try out the new tiramisu recipe, meet my guy at length or just cuddle my lovely pillows. I get sick of having only a virtual existence during the week. I want real folks, where I can see the twinkle in their eyes, the spittle flying out of their mouth, and the distinct smells we all emit. Some of the most important life-changing events have happened on Saturdays… because that is when almost everyone has the time and willingness to get in touch with their inner self and take stock. The crazy rush and the mad rat race that we have going on our professional front comes to a pause – it is a rest day, a recuperating day, a rejuvenating day. We owe it ourselves!

Take a bow, Saturday Gods.

P.S. Why not Sunday? Well, that is when the reminder of the next 5 days rolls in… Sunday just misses the cut!

P.P.S. Apologies to people who work on Saturdays *evil laughter*

socs-badge


A happy day. A happy post. Tell me, what makes your Saturdays ticks? 🙂

6 thoughts on “SoCS ‘S’ | Sunny Breezy Saturday!

  1. NEVER LOOKED AT SATURDAYS FROM THIS ANGLE. EVERYBODY ENJOYS THEM-MAY BE WITH THE EXCEPTIONS OF SOME-BUT NEVER REALIZE IT.

    Like

Share your thoughts...