Do Your Bit – At least for Yourself!

What happens when things don’t go the way you planned? What happens when life takes a U-turn from its planned course? What happens when your blissful joyride has an irreversible breakdown? How many times can you deal with the heartbreak?

Once? Twice? A lifetime?

We all have expectations – from ourselves and others. From the housemaid to your employer, from parents and family to significant others – hell even from your dog who must give you a cuddle when you down. Realistically speaking, it is impossible that all our expectations be met. Circumstances, often natural or out of our control, have a tendency to say hello and crash our hopes.

My question is, how long is too long when you keep tolerating it? This is especially true, when we rely on other people and come to depend on them. There is a time when you take those expectations almost for granted! Yeah, I earn! But I still live in the comfort that if something really horrible happens, I do have my parents’ support. Or I have the assurance that I can call my bestest friend in the world when I want to sob, irrespective of her location and time zone. Sure, disappointments are part and parcel of the game. But what happens when they become a rule? Given your track record, you realise that if the going is too good be prepared for a major screw up.

I simply stop expecting – easier right not to get hurt when things don’t go your way? Don’t expect. Don’t get hurt.

BUT! When we stop expecting and you brace yourself for the worst every single time, isn’t that the failure of the relationship? Doesn’t it make it fickle? Co-dependency is the beauty of mankind! Yet over here, we are giving up on that fundamental element because we are too wary of being let down and be disappointed all over again.

But, the show must go on. We pick ourselves, dust off, maybe do some wailing and then move on.

So, after a lot of thinking I kind of took a call and hope to stick to it. Whatever happens, my true day of failure is when I fall below my own expectations. I am determined to do my bit and give it all – at least for the sake of living up to my own hopes and not tumble from grace in my own eyes. There is a certain standard we all set for ourselves and we owe it to our self-respect that we adhere to it if not cross.

Time to make peace with being let down and simply focus on what needs to be done – irrespective of the end!

Quoting from Bhagavad Gita (Holy Book of Hindus) – To Karma (action) alone hast thou a right and never at all to its fruits; let not the fruits of action be thy motive; neither let there be in thee any attachment to inaction.

socs-badge


The prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “bat, bet, bit, bot, but.” Clearly not a light take on it, but hey! It is SOCS for a reason…

13 thoughts on “Do Your Bit – At least for Yourself!

  1. Thats a good resolution to make.
    Do your best and then just hope for the best and be prepared for the worst.
    The journey is the reward 🙂

    Like

  2. I was actually thinking of Bhagavad Gita while reading it and then saw the quote at the end!! Beautiful (2nd) last para.. It is the journey/process that matters and when you are living each moment fully, you know that’s what matters and the outcome is a given!! Nevertheless, that’s not the goal when you’re focused on the process; its automatic as a result of the process!!
    Also, i feel its good to be vulnerable, that’s when you truly find yourself more often than not as you talk with the self most then and realise the importance of stillness!! And if we learn to count our blessings then, nothing better than that!! 🙂
    As Rahul said, the journey is the reward!! 🙂

    Like

  3. I learned a long time ago not to expect anything of anyone. But there are two ways to take this, as I see it. You can, as you say, stop expecting and brace yourself for the worst, or you can think to yourself, “I expect nothing and therefore when someone does come through for me, I’m happily surprised.” In doing this I was forced to count on myself for everything, and so I promised myself I would never take on anything I can’t handle alone. For the most part it has worked out well. And I’m quite content with my life, though life itself can be a little overwhelming at times – because so many people expect things of me!!
    Great post, Prajakta. 😀

    Like

    • “I’m happily surprised” Yes! Exactly… And you have the peace of mind that you can always rely on your own self. Tiny moments of sadness are worth the whole picture! Thank you Linda 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a great post, it does hurt when people let you down. I have had my heart broken many times I’m afraid to say. I like how you said: “I am determined to do my bit and give it all – at least for the sake of living up to my own hopes and not tumble from grace in my own eyes.” That is beautiful. We all can learn from this, thank you!

    Like

Share your thoughts...